Monday, December 1, 2008


In February 2009 comes Josh Wink's fourth album. ‘When A Banana Was Just A Banana’ is presented in three formats, the CD format is in a continuous DJ mix style, whilst the vinyl and digital formats are unmixed and perfect for DJs and dancefloors.

Check below for some track descriptions from Josh Wink

1)  Airplane Electronique-
"This was first started June 2007, after playing the Piknik Electronik party in Montreal. Kind of got an idea of the track with style of music I was playing at the event. A mixture of tech and house with a twisted feel. Started the groove and got back to finishing the track in October 2007. The name came from Flying back from the party... But the spelling of Electronique is more french (montreal style) than the name of the party."

2) Counter Clock 319

"Was originally called '319 Acid', similar to '516 Acid', but it was called 319 as I started this on March 19th 2007. After playing around with ideas, and effects, I  had created a panning motion in the track which when listened to in headphones travels in a 'counter clock'wise fashion.  I was listening to a set of (DJ) Dixon and noticed how slow and groovy most of the set was, which influenced me to make a twisted, intense track that was in the same tempo range."

3)What used to be called used to be
"This original track was based on a rmx i did for my friend Someone Else (Sean O'neal) in October 2006. This was the groove and acid line used, but Sean and I agreed that a different rmx was needed, which I did and was released on his label "FoundSound" in 2007. I asked him if I could change things around with my rmx (as all the music except the vocal samples were from his track) and perhaps release it on Ovum, and he said 'sure' . So, I've been playing it out since then with great reactions, and had to release it! Acid Baby..."

4)Jus Right
"Original groove was done in 2005. I found it again Feb 2008, when I was cleaning files on my computer, and finished the track, the same month. Reminds me of some old french 80's disco house sounding thing, which I'm a sucker for. We wanted to leak this out for the summer season in 2008, as it really has a summer/sexy groove-vibe to it. We weren't sure what to do with it, as people don't expect me to release things like this. But, Matt (@ovum) said, it's you, and it's deep and pumpy, we gotta put it out. The track was originally 17 minutes long, which to me was "Just Right" to tell my story... But, several edits were completed to make it shorter and we agreed that it still had the same feeling. This was played at the WMC this past year and someone youtubed it and people are wondering who it is... So. We decided to release it."

5) Dolphin Smack
"It originally was intended for my B-side track on PokerFlat in Sept 2006. But, decided no, and left it- came back to it in October, same year to complete. It's been changed many times as I constantly get ideas on 'unfinished' tracks by playing them out. I remember playing it at my "Ovum Last Wednesday" residency in Philly, and someone came up to me and asked 'what was that track with the dolphin in the break', and the named Dolphin came about... Then to me it sounded like some a dolphin on herion, hence "Dolphin Smack".  If I get the right crowd at a gig, this breakdown is magical, as it's very OUT THERE. Excited to release it."

6)Minimum 23
"Influenced by 90's NYC house, as was Stay Out All Night.  It was started originally in Oct 06, and was finished a year later, Oct. 23, 2007. Another track that of mine that wanted to marry the various sounds of USA style house and my electronic-tweaky-ness of production. Another track that I've been playing out, that gets pretty insane response on the dance-floor- Jackin-House Tech! Name has changed too... As most of my tracks start with dates of the month. Then titles come to me later, as they don't really mean much to me. But, they're fun to make up."

7) Hypnoslave
"Started working on this when I was asked to do the "Screaming Hands" rmx for Radioslave, Nov. 2006. But, it wasn't going in the direction I wanted for the remix. I never used any of Radioslave's parts for this track... So, I worked on it a bit more, and put it away to work on another day.  I was still in my making more house versions of tech production moods... The name of the track half came from Slave as I started it as the RadioSlave remix and the other half was it was Hypnotic as all hell! I remember being in San Diego in 2007 and Dubfire was there, we found out that we were both playing in LA the next day, so he gave me a ride to LA in a rented truck and listened to each others music on the drive. Still to the day, he asks me about getting this track! I will finally get it to him!" 

8) Everybody to the Sun
"In Dec 2005 it originally based around a vocal of someone saying "Everybody to the sun".  Found it again, took the vocals out and completed it in Jan 2007. Began playing it out to great response, and I still get threats from Marco Carola and Paco Osuna who heard me play it, that they will hurt me if I don't give them a copy. My response "Ah, well, it's not mastered yet". Well, it's mastered. The version before this one went a little crazy with analog madness during the break- This version is a lot more subdued, and hypnotic. No bass-line here, but the bass of the drum every 4 measures gets the ladies hips going."

9)  Stay Out All Night
"I was listening to a lot of 90's nyc and chicago house-(which I'm very influenced by) when I made this track, and decided to do a bunch of music that were more house-tech than tech house. I had a a lot of fun bringing a bit of jazzy rhodes lines, jackin house beats and a deep ass bass to my sets. This really stood out when I was playing it for the 1st times at the end of 2007. I played it for Matty B (Ovum) and he thought it would be a great idea to leak it out at the 2008 WMC. We gave it to 15 people and the magic started there... It's great how it was played by so many diverse dj's and continued to blur the line between the new styles of tech and the old sound of house."  

‘When A Banana Was Just A Banana’ (album) is released February 2009 on Ovum Recordings

‘Counter Clock’ (single) is released February with a remix from Chris Leibing on Ovum Recordings

CD Tracklist
1) Airplane Electronique
2) Counter Clock 319
3) What Used To Be Called Used To Be
4) Jus' Right
5) Dolphin Smack
6) Minimum 23
7) Everybody To The Sun
8) Hypnoslave
9) Stay Out All Night