Friday, January 16, 2009

Gigolo ELEVEN - 2 X CD - Presented By DJ Hell

CD ELEVEN – 2 x CD Compilation – Presented by DJ Hell
Released: 23rd February 2009
International Deejay Gigolo Records
Distributed by: NEWS

Eleven, is considered the Master Number by some…
Welcome to a new chapter for The Mega Church Of Gigolo.

“We Call It Techno” – DJ Hell

CD ELEVEN sees DJ Hell’s International Deejay Gigolo imprint unleash its eleventh UNMIXED double CD compilation onto fans and fanatics of the ‘Mega-Church of Gigolo’. Including 16 never-before-heard unreleased monster Gigolo tracks; ELEVEN is a celebration of the label’s avant-garde and legendary roster. Talents new and old take Gigolo into the long awaited renaissance period of Modern Dance Music.

Starting from its 1996 foundation, Gigolo has provided. The labels’ release history, which boasts almost 250 releases to date, has bought the likes of Miss Kittin & The Hacker, Jeff Mills, Dave Clarke, Fischerspooner, Tiga, The Psychonauts, The Presets, Justice and many more to the modern ear.

Over a year in the selection and making process, Gigolo’s 2009 showcase forms over two discs, check below for descriptions and histories.

CD ELEVEN (disc 1) kicks off with DJ Pierre’s ‘I’ve Lost Control’ –a welcome release from the purveyor of acid house and a track hammered by all big name DJs, including Radio Slave, Dave Clarke and Laurent Garnier. Peter Kruder (one half of Kruder & Dorfmeister) previously remixed DJ Hell’s huge ‘Listen To The Hiss’ on Gigolo in 2005, the melodious ‘Visions LTD’ (his first 12” in a long time) is Kruder’s first Gigolo maxi and will be released in March 09. I.M.B.’s psycho-tinged ‘Kill Bill’ was originally released in 2005 on his own Mathematics imprint, now it features here as an exclusive re-edit from Ectomorph. Opiates (AKA Billy Ray Martin – former singer in Electribe 101) ‘Candy Coated Crime’ was released early 2008 on Gigolo. G.rizo is a singer/producer and all-round inter-continental creative. ‘Boys Medley’ (featuring DJ Glow & Donovan) is an excellent prelude to her artist album forthcoming in 2009 on Gigolo… Watch this artist. The intensity of Hell’s own ‘The Disaster’ was released 2008, expect his double artist album ‘Angst’ coming March 2009… Joel Alter’s ‘Snake Eyes’ - exclusive to the compilation and heavily supported by Richie Hawtin - is the follow-up to his 2007 ‘Body Trance’ EP. Romanian artist The Model’s introspective second-Gigolo-release ‘Newly Found Voids’ was released in 2008. Motor ‘Jacked Up’ is noise best heard loud. Richard Bartz’s layer-cake ‘Voyager’ was released in 2008 on Gigolo. Acid Junkies ‘Chica Sexy’, which features on the TWELVE EP, coming in February, is a chi-town mover. Captain Commodore’s heavy ride ‘Express’ was his first Gigolo release in 2008. And finally the slow moving Seelenluft ‘You Can Dance’ is taken from Seelenluft’s excellent debut album ‘Birds And Plants And Rocks And Things’, released on Gigolo in 2008 and from which the single 'Comme Dans un Reve' was used in a Chanel ad campaign in France.

CD ELEVEN (disc 2) starts with epic techno in the form of Actor One ‘Popcorn’, which also features on the TWELVE EP, the coinciding EP to be released February. Marascia’s trippy ‘Leggy’ came out on Gigolo in 2008. ‘Discotecktonic’ was Fetisch &Me’s first Gigolo release in 2008, their second ‘The Calling / Useless Man’ will be released January 2009. Snuff Crew ‘DJ Into Space’ is the spacey second Gigolo release from the duo, following ‘We Make You Scream’, released in 2008. Herman Schwartz’s version of Mark Ronson and Amy Whinehouse’s ‘Back 2 Black is up next.. Replacing Whinehouse’s universally adored vocals with a slow melody line that stays true to the original. Abe Duque is no stranger to Gigolo, his ‘Life Is Sooo Good To Me’ is exclusive here. Lopazz ‘What Should I Do’ (feat. Deafny Moon) is the bouncing debut release from Lopazz on Gigolo, from 2007. Bennie A gets serious with ‘X3’. Heib’s ‘Jackpot’ embodies what’s Chicago and is set for release in January 2009. Joe Le Bon ‘Tanssiakos 07’ is a synth laden exclusive release for the compilation. And finally we end on Hell’s edit of Phobia’s ‘Phobia’, deep, brooding techno chimes out the ending.

Welcome to Gigolo.

CD1 Tracklisting:
1. DJ Pierre - ‘Ive Lost Control’ (WildPiTcHMix)
2. Peter Kruder – ‘Visions Ltd’
3. I.M.B. – ‘Kill Bill’ (BMG Edit)
4. Opiates - Candy Coated Crime
5. G.rizo – Boys Medley featuring DJ Glow & Donovan
6. Hell – ‘The Disaster’ (CD Eleven edit)
7. Joel Alter – Snake Eyes 10:04
8. The Model – Newly Found Voids 6:21
9. Motor – ‘Jacked Up ‘ 4:45
10. Richard Bartz – Voyager 5:36
11. Acid Junkies – ‘Chica Sexy’ 5.31
12. Captain Commodore – ‘Express’
13. Seelenluft – ‘You Can Dance’ 3:33

CD 2 Tracklisting:
1. Actor One – ‘Popcorn’
2. Marascia – ‘Leggy’
3. Fetische &Me – ‘Discotecktonic’
4. Snuff Crew – ‘DJ Into Space’
5. Herman Schwartz – ‘Back 2 Black’ - cover?
6. Abe Duque – ‘Life Is sooo Good To Me’
7. Lopazz – ‘What Should I Do?’ (feat. Deafny Moon).
8. Bennie A – ‘X3’
9. Heib – ‘Jackpot’
10. Joe Le Bon – ‘Tanssiakos 07’
11. Phobia – ‘Phobia’ (Hells CD Eleven edit)