Monday, March 22, 2010

James Teej - 'Evening Harvest' - debut album on Rekids

Press Release
James Teej
‘Evening Harvest’
Released May 2010

Canadian James Teej releases his solo album on Radio Slave’s Rekids imprint – ‘Evening Harvest’ – a deep debut.

‘Evening Harvest’ is a selection Press of material that Teej wrote over a six-month period in the first half of 2009. With an emphasis on deep techno and house, the album is a journey through an array of different musical sounds and moods, with Teej also adding his own soulful vocals to the music. The tracks were written to be deep listening pieces, whilst also being DJ friendly. ‘Evening Harvest’ is the culmination of 14 years spent listening to, DJing, writing and producing electronic music, and represents the diversity of sounds he is deeply passionate about.

Teej began his electronic obsession in 1995 in Canmore Alberta, Canada. Already a classically trained musician, studying Piano, Guitar, Bass instruments and Latin and Jazz drums, a friend gave him a cassette mix-tape of the first House Music he had ever heard. Instantly moved, he knew he had found his calling. The purchase of Technic 1200’s followed, as did the creation of his own studio and Teej locking himself away for two years to perfect the art of production and mixing.

In 1997 he released his first EP on his self-created label Reflection Records, under the name James T. From here he began DJing at afterhour parties, warehouse raves and festivals, everywhere from his hometown to the Rocky Mountains. In 2005, Teej made the move to Canada’s main stage, Toronto, where he set up studio with long time friend Nitin. Remixes for Trentemoller, Tobey Tobias and Solee followed, as did releases on Rebirth, My Favourite Robot and Connect Four Records – the latter being how he hooked up with Radio Slave and signed to Rekids for an album deal.

“I first came across James’ work a few years ago and was immediately taken by his emotive soundscapes and bumping rhythms, and knew I had to find out more. From our first meetings through to his outstanding performances at the Panorama Bar, it’s plain to see that James is carving his own individual path, in what is a very crowded scene. His vocal style and delivery has a blue-eyed soul vibe, reminiscent of lost soul heroes from the past. Yet his futuristic instrumentation comes from all directions and continents. The musical environments he paints are really something very unique.
So sit back or stand up and enjoy the world of James Teej…” – Radio Slave

Evening Harvest will be released May 2010. Here is a track-by-track breakdown:

1. B4 SPRING - This track introduces the emotional undertone of this album perfectly. Easing you in with moody tones and an air of expectancy as the track progresses; layering with chimes and percussion. There is a hollow feel to it until all the sounds roll together with soft and soothing beats. This allows you to delve in to deep listening mode and enjoy the intricate way this album has been put together.

2. MONACO VILLA - Instantly bouncy and upbeat with a simple structure and catchy vocal. The percussion resonates throughout with an original tech-house sound.

3. LATE BLOOMING - A slightly more moody introduction with a noticeably subdued undertone. The echoing piano and shaky percussion adds an almost jazzy/blues feel to the track.

4. GREENBACK ft. dOP* - Beginning with shuffling percussion and then instantly moving into an uplifting tone, set by the euphoric synthesized sounds and calming vocals. Again the clicking percussion is true to a deeper tech house style.

5. WE COLLIDE – A provocative rhythm and a funky percussion, with deep house resonating throughout. The track eases in and out of a harder more techno percussive sound.

6. LEFT BELIEVING - An earthy tribal beat attached to an almost spooky vocal running through. The clean kick drums lighten the tone and add a funky atmosphere over the top, while the general tone is expectant and hopeful.

7. SEVEN DAY MEND** - Deep listening at its best – with an evocative vocal, moody bass line and an undefined drop leaving smoothness throughout. With small hints of softer instruments the track has a slightly sad undertone.

8. THE RAIN AWAITING - Introduced with a dark, marching build up leaving an air of excitement and expectation. As it chugs systematically through the layers, adding deep bass and low melody, the atmosphere builds. There is a vast spectrum of sounds, from strings and shakers to dark bass drums, leaving a highly volumous sound.

9.SICKEN - This track plays with the boundaries of deep tribal beats and electronic synthesizer sounds, merging the two to create an earthy yet strongly electronic sound. The mood is strong and harsh until the contrast of a softer melody is introduced.

10.ALL WE HAVE IS TIME - This track begins with an unmistakably blues sound, with a hint of jazz in the piano and a soulful vocal. It could be seen as a wind down track, or a time to reflect. It is the perfect finale to an album intended to take its listeners on a journey through the spectrum of human emotions.

James Teej DJ Dates:

March 23rd - Made To Play vs. Rekids @ White Room / Miami
March 24th - Rebirth Showcase @ Shelborne / Shine Basement / Miami
March 27th - w/ Radio Slave, Simon Baker @ Nocturnal / Miami
April 2nd - Petrol / Antwerp
April 3rd – Mirano / Brussels
April 4th - Rex Club / Paris
April 9th - Trouw / Amsterdam
April 10th - Le Zoo / Geneva
April 11th - East Village / London

No comments: