Friday, April 3, 2009

A Bugged Out Mix by Hot Chip


Following on from the raucous scenes at a packed out Fire for their very own Bugged Out launch party, Hot Chip are the next act up to follow in the footsteps of Erol Alkan, Miss Kittin, Klaxons and Felix Da Housecat in compiling A Bugged Out Mix...

Despite a feverish schedule that has taken in numerous side projects, solo records, countless dancefloor-igniting remixes, production duties and, of course relentless touring of the globe, the brilliantly off-kilter five-headed electro pop colossus known as Hot Chip have somehow found the time to assemble a mix for their good friends at Bugged Out.

Indeed, in following the classic Bugged Out format the album comprises of 2 discs (Bugged Out and Bugged In) Hot Chip have created a mix fortified and 100% Ready For The Floor: The Bugged Out side features the kind of techno and house Felix Martin, Al Doyle and Joe Goddard play out regularly with tracks from John Tejada, Mark Romboy, Dominik Eulberg & Gabriel Ananda to name but a few. Also included is a new exclusive Hot Chip tune called ‘Take It In’.

By contrast the Bugged In side is a dream house party mix thrown down by Alexis Taylor, Joe Goddard and Owen Clarke including everything from widescreen pop and smooth RnB ballads to grime. Being Hot Chip they’ve lent themselves to remixing duties too, exclusively reworking Fence collective member The Pictish Trail’s ‘Winter Home Disco’ and Gang Gang Dance’s ‘House Jam’. They even convince Terence Trent Darby and Dizzee Rascal go toe to toe on the dancefloor with an inspired mash up of ‘Wishing Well‘ and ‘Fix Up Look Sharp’ and a house party wouldn’t be a house party without classics from Hall and Oats, The Doobie Brothers, Luther Vandross and Fleetwood Mac commanding the airwaves now would it?

This stella mix for Bugged Out is the only scheduled release from Hot Chip in 09 as they start work on the follow up to last year’s ‘Made In The Dark’.

“The idea for Bugged Out was something altogether more considered, poised and subtle - a chance to turn a cold eye upon all the records that we've been playing in clubs over the last couple of years and fuse them into some kind of monstrous, all-destroying whole.” – Felix On Bugged Out

“The question was posed: 'What would Hot Chip play at a drunken house party, hidden from the critical eye of the international DJ community?' The answer, it seems, was Luther Vandross and Terence Trent D'arby. Please don't hate us! It’s also a collection of songs that we play out regularly, remixes that we are proud of, and old favourites that we decided to somehow collect together” - Joe On Bugged In


CD01 Bugged Out
01. Gas - Nah Und Fern
02.Theo Parish - Space Bumps
03. Exrawelt & Morelle - Schmedding
04. Joseph Capriati - C'est La Vie
05. Philip Sherburne - The Claim
06. Armando - Don't Take It (Thomos Edit)
07. Harry Axt - Deliberately Selected
08. Florian Meindel - Blast
09. Conrad Schnitzler - 00/346 & 00/380 (Dandy Jack & The Queen Of Mars Remix)
10. John Tejada - Torque
11. Pig & Dan - Hope
12. Prevelist - Junktion
13. Cosmic Sandwich - Cosmic Sandwich (Cosmic Sandwich Remix)
14. Hot Chip - Take It In
15. Mark Henning - Moody Bastard
16. District One aka Bart Skils & Anton Pieete - One2One
17. Mory Kante - Yeke Yeke (Afro Acid Mix)
18. Ican - Chiclet's Theme
19. Dominik Eulberg & Gabriel Ananda - Eucalypse Now!
20. Alex Cappelli - Bloody Notes (Butch Remix)
21. Kollektiv Turmstrasse - Blutsbruder
22. Marc Romboy - Karambolage (Oxia Remix)
23. International Pony feat Khan & Snax - Bubble In The Bottle (Pepe Braddock Remix)
24. Max Cooper - I (Long Version)

CD02 Bugged In
01. The Pictish Trail - Winter Home Disco (Hot Chip Remix)
02. The Andrews Sisters - Rum & Coca Cola
03. The Esso Trinidad Steel Band - Apeman
04. Bravo & Zongamin - Street Liming
05. Greco Roman - Party Rhythm
06. Osborne - 16th Stage
07. Man Like Me - London Town
08. Fleetwood Mac - Love In Store
09. The Doobie Brothers - What A Fool Believes
10. Gramme - I Can't Resist (Sick Of My Music Mix)
11. Gang Gang Dance - House Jam (Hot Chip Remix)
12. Daryl Hall & John Oates - I Can't Go For that (No Can Do)
13. Dub Narcotic Sound System - Shake A Puddin'
14. Luther Vandross - Never Too Much
15. Terence Trent D'Arby - Wishing Well with Dizzee Rascal - Fix Up, Look Sharp
16. Biz Markie - Just A Friend
17. Sparks - The Number One Song In Heaven
18. Robert Palmer - Looking For Clues
19. Zapp & Roger - I Wanna Be Your Man
20. Eddie Floyd - Bring It On Home To Me

No comments: